Radical Dance Faction (RDF) were founded by Chris Bowsher in Hungerford in 1986. Originally known as ‘Military Surplus’, the band has experienced many line up changes, with at least thirty different people having been part of the band at one time or another. Bowsher is the only person who has been in every line up of the band.

RDF’s music combines punk, dub, and ska, while Bowsher’s lyrics, spoken rather than sung, deal mainly with political issues, such as the Tiananmen Square protests of 1989 in the song “Chinese Poem”. Bowsher also witnessed first hand the Hungerford massacre, describing his experience in the song “Hot on the Wire”.

In 1990 they signed to Southern records, releasing two albums on their own imprint Earthzone and going on to tour Germany and other parts of Europe. One tour was as the support act to Rebel MC and they also supported Ziggy Marley at one point. RDF appeared at the huge Summerjam festival in Germany, July 1993.

RDF were a regular act on the UK free festival scene prior to the 1994 Criminal Justice Act, and were part of the crusty/anarcho punk movement until they called it day in the mid 1990s. Their final album (until reformation) Raggamuffin Statement was a mixture of live recordings and remixes with new songs, including “Martin Foran”, about the wrongly convicted prisoner.

The band reformed in 2006 playing various festivals around the UK during 2007. They reformed again in 2012 and appeared at the Bearded Theory festival in Derby. The band commenced a short tour in October 2012 to promote new album – Ammunition. In recent years they have performed at the likes of Glastonbury, Boomtown, Rebellion, Willow Man and Green Gathering festivals.

In 2018 RDF released their latest work, Daydream Dystopia, produced by Youth Sounds.

Current Line-Up

  • Chris Bowsher ( vocals)
  • Shanks (Drums)
  • Murph (Guitar)
  • Dan Foster (Bass)



  • 1989 Taking Refuge
  • 1989 Hot on the Wire
  • 1990 Borderline Cases
  • 1991 Wasteland
  • 1995 Raggamuffin Statement
  • 2012 Ammunition
  • 2018 Daydream Dystopia


  • 1992 Landing Party
  • 1991 Beast in the Doorway
  • 2018 RU 1


Youth Sounds
4 The Vineyard
TW13 4HH